On December 26th, the talented and fabulous Ella Quinn tagged me for The Next Big Thing, an on-going, round-robin interview.  The day I was to post I was caught in an 11-hour trek through a snow storm. So, my post is a few days late, but here goes:

What is your working title of your book? Lady Vice

Where did the idea come from for the book? While doing research for another book, I discovered that, in England, up until 1784, killing a husband was considered ‘petty treason’ (as was a servant killing their master). The sentence was brutal: death by being burnt at the stake. I wondered what facing such a fate would feel like, and Lady Vice was born.

What genre does your book fall under? Historical Romance—specifically, Late Georgian.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? I never considered—although I suppose my hero bears a resemblance to Aiden Quinn in the 80’s :)

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? When a fallen countess is suspected of murdering her estranged husband, her first love becomes her last chance for redemption.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? I’m represented by Rebecca Strauss of McIntosh and Otis.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? This is the second book I finished, and the first draft was a Nano experiment. That draft, however, is winter to this draft’s fall–the view is the same, but the landscape is entirely different (& hopefully more vibrant).

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Well, it’s a darker book than many historicals. I’m hesitant to compare, but my dream is to create a book that would appeal to fans of Anna Campbell and Carolyn Jewel…

Who or what inspired you to write this book? I’ve always wanted to write Romance Novels, but this particular book was inspired by the research.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? It’s the first in a trilogy of three fallen ladies–all strong women who share a deep bond and who have refused to let mistakes ruin their lives.

Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged.

I was tagged by Ella Quinn, who described her recently contracted book (yay).

I’m tagging:
Madeline Iva and Liz Everly of the Lady Smut blog. I enjoy their blog. Also, I’ve read some of Madeline’s work and she blew me away!

I’m also tagging Miranda Laisson, who finaled in several contests and whose historical Renency The Spy Who Loved Me was a terrific read and Kiresten Krum because she’s great and her Emily winning Rom Sus book Catch Me, is gripping!

Leave a Reply